Preparing for a New Semester

A new semester is starting tomorrow. I’ve been having so many ups and downs in life for the past 5 years and I’ve finally found a sense of direction. A whole new course and a new college life.

I’m gonna be in my second semester of my first year as a business student in Laksamana College of Business in Brunei. Can’t wait to go back to college.

For these few days, I have been getting all my things prepared for this semester (also mentally prepared now…)

1. Set Alarm Clocks

I have been setting my alarm clocks. Yup! 2 alarm clocks! I have the habit of switching off my alarm clock and went to doze off again. My phone is on the study desk right next to my bed. So, I’m fully prepared to be awake by the second alarm clock which will on my bookshelf. I have to get up, switch it off and won’t be able to doze off.

 

Source: blog.doctoroz.com

 

2. Get a Planner

I wasn’t able to remember any birthdate, assignment or project deadline, or any other important event. I used to think that planners are a complete waste of time and useless. For now, as a student and as a part-time tutor having a planner really helps me a lot.

 

Source: pensandart.wordpress.com

 

3. Making a Schedule

The college help sets what modules we’re gonna take for the semester and give us the schedule. With this, I make my own schedule, including self-study, work, reading, chores, and exercise.

I make mine by using MS-Excel from Monday to Sunday, 17 hours per day.

4. Start a Study Journal

I buy a simple ring binder notebook for this. The first few pages are sketch-noting patterns for making notes. Then, I make the journal like daily to-do lists. Whenever I’ve accomplished something, I would check them off. When the exams are a month away, I would look through them to see what I’ve been missing.

5. The Right Textbooks

The lecturers don’t usually advise which textbooks we use. They only told us that the related textbooks are all in the library. Well, I understand ’cause it’s a business college. And, I understand that there are different types of textbooks that present information differently.

During the first week, I spend more time in the library reading through all the related textbooks for a certain module then decided which presentation is suitable for me to understand. Unless there is research involved, I would just read on that textbook only.

 

 

leadership-books-better-leadership-blog
Source: http://www.betterleadershipblog.com

 

6. Get to Know Them

Getting to know your professors is a big plus sign for any students. I always try to get to know them first for so many reasons. Firstly, I’m able to understand how they give the lecture. Secondly, when I get to know them, they get to know me. So, if there is any problem with my research papers or anything that I don’t understand in the lecture, they will be able to help me more.

Image result for get to know professors
Source: http://www.motivationaljoe.com

7. Get Organised!

I would clean my room and my study desk first.

The next thing I do is to get essentials with me while I go to college or having a revision.

  • Planner
  • Coloured Pens
  • Highlighters
  • Writing Materials
  • Notebooks
  • Calendar
  • Post-its Notes
  • Paper Clips or Binder Clips
  • Exam Pad
  • Folders
  • Binder

8. Prepare Weekly Meal Plans

As my college is just 15 or 20 minutes away on the road from home. I want to make an effort to cook at home. This also can help ease off the burden from my mum’s shoulder. I’ve done a small meal plan list on my study journal so I know that, if I have a difficult subject study on that day, I will just cook up something nice and simple.

9. Do Something!

Get to know your college more and see if they offer part-time jobs or maybe join a club. Being in college is not just about studies, it’s also about socializing. I didn’t get a change to join a club but I’ve gotten a chance to have some free time to hang out with my friends. My part-time job is also something that I really love as it keeps my mind off from studying. Sort of like a relaxing therapy. There are just so many relaxing therapies that you can try and you can search some on the net. As for me, blogging and reading are two of the relaxing therapy.

 

 

Source: http://www.su.nottingham.ac.uk

10. Enjoy!

As mentioned, it’s not about studies only. I usually reward myself from studying by pampering myself with some at-home facial or hair treatment or with a massage. Don’t be alone. Be adventurous. Make new friends. And, most of all, I get to spend some time with my other half.

Source: http://www.bustle.com

 

These are things that I would do to prepare for the upcoming semesters. It may or may not work out for you. You can give it a try.

Have a nice read!

-Ollie-

 

One Reply to “Preparing for a New Semester”

Leave a Reply

